Store Bought Flies

After attending a friend’s wedding reception this afternoon I stopped at Cabela’s to pick up some cone heads and hackle for some wooly buggers.  Feeling particularly affluent, I also dropped a buck seventy nine on a store bought Brewer’s Egg Regurgitating Leech.

A complete disclosure of my fishing and fly tying habits would reveal that if it’s a dry fly smaller than a size 16, I’m going to buy it, not tie it.  I’ll tie down to size 18 on nymphs, but am perfectly willing to offer my heard-earned cash for anything smaller.  That same disclosure would also show that I tie a lot of poppers and streamers for warm water bass and bluegill.

So, why did I buy this one?  I’m telling myself I bought it for the pattern, and will tie some myself later.  That’s what I say. . . but it’s not the truth.  The truth is, I saw a fly ready-to-fish, and in a lazy moment of weakness, paid my money and went fishing.

And now you know; I sometimes fish with store bought flies. It’s not a problem. I can quit any time.

Little Bass on Egg Regurgitating Leech

IMG_7294

IMG_7299

IMG_7304

Leave a comment

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑